The City of Nedlands appoints the Western Australian Electoral Commission to conduct ordinary council elections every two years. These are conducted via postal ballot.  The next elections will be held in October 2017.

The results of the ordinary council elections held on 17 October 2015 were as follows.

Only two positions were contested – both councillors from the Dalkeith Ward, Cr Ian Argyle and Cr Joe Porter. Both were returned as councillors.

Mayor Max Hipkins was returned unopposed, as were all the other councillors who were up for re-election:

Cr Leo McManus – Coastal Districts Ward
Cr John Wetherall – Hollywood Ward
Cr Toni James – Melvista Ward
Cr Nigel Shaw – Melvista Ward


Nomination requirements

Candidates are required to lodge with the returning officer the following:

  • a completed nomination in the prescribed form, signed and witnessed. This form is available from the returning officer, the Western Australian Electoral Commission website www.waec.wa.gov.au or at the City of Nedlands,
  • a single A4 page profile containing not more than 150 words of information about the candidate,
  • a nomination deposit of $80 in cash, bank cheque or postal order, and
  • a recent passport sized photograph (optional).

Where an agent lodges a nomination on a candidate's behalf, it must be in the prescribed form with a written authorisation signed by the candidate.

The documents may be hand delivered, posted or faxed to the returning officer and must be received by close of nominations.

Full details about eligibility and nomination procedures for prospective candidates can be obtained by contacting the returning officer on 9242 5192 or 0403 342 110 or the Western Australian Electoral Commission on 13 63 06.


Councillors terms

Area Ending 2017 Ending 2019
Mayor    Mayor Hipkins
Dalkeith Ward

Councillor Hassell


Councillor Porter
Councillor Argyle

Hollywood Ward

Councillor Hodsdon
Councillor Binks

Councillor Wetherall

Coastal Districts Ward

 Councillor Horley
Councillor Smyth

Councillor McManus

Melvista Ward Councillor Hay Councillor James
Councillor Shaw