Top image

Warning message

Submissions for this form are closed.

Roland Leach Poetry Prize

2016 Roland Leach Poetry Prize

The Roland Leach Poetry Prize is a biennial competition run by the City of Nedlands Library Service since 2005.  It aims to promote poetry in the community and to recognise and reward outstanding, original works of poetry written by young people in Western Australia.  The competition is open to school aged children and teenagers from Year 3 to Year 12, and is divided into 4 categories based on age group

2016 was the sixth year of the competition and had 1,116 entries from 95 schools across the state. 

Winners of the 2016 Roland Leach Poetry Prize Competition

Category A

ist Priya Aravinth Methodist Ladies College
2nd Raquel Van Merwyk Methodist Ladies College
3rd Niamh Fraser Methodist Ladies College
HC Margot Reid Perth Waldrof School

 Category B

1st Hannah Tsang Applecross Senior High School
2nd Nitya Tewari Melville Senior High School
3rd Sharna Lyell Churchland Senior High School
HC Anna Cox Applecross Senior High School

 Category C

1st Lewis Orr Scotch College
2nd Mellissa Barber Ballajura Community College
3rd Mina Wallis Melville Senior High School
HC Philippa Newman Iona Presentation College

 Category D

1st Celeste Kalnenas St Hilda's Anglican School for Girls
2nd Christy Tan Applecross Senior High School
3rd Ella Fox-Martens Perth Modern School
HC Emily Bradley Presbyterian Ladies College

 Overall winner

1st Lewis Orr Scotch College

Most Enthusiastic School – East Manjimup Primary School with 113 entries
Most Poetic School – Methodist Ladies College with 3 winning entries


2016 Roland Leach Winning Poems


2016 Roland Leach Winning Poems