Top image

Self-Assessment for Food Businesses

The Food Safety Standards reflect international best practice and are part of the Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code (the Code) and it applies across all of Australia. The Standards are based on a preventative approach to the incidence of food-borne illness in Australia and are designed to help ensure that food businesses in Australia produce food that is safe to eat.

The Food Safety Standards outline obligations of food businesses, regardless of whether they are required to be licensed by local government or not, in relation to:
• food handling, including the receipt, storage, processing, display, packaging, transportation, disposal and recall
• personal health and hygiene requirements
• skills and knowledge requirements for food handlers
• cleaning, sanitising and maintenance
• provision of thermometers
• pest control
• design, construction and fit-out of premises.

All food businesses must meet minimum standards described by the Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code (the Code). When the City’s Environmental Health Officers conduct an inspection of your food business its purpose is to assess how your food business is operating against the Code.

It is recommended that all food businesses periodically conduct their own internal assessment of how they are meeting these requirements by use of the checklist and Safe Food Australia.

More Information
• Checklist  
• Self-assessment Guide
• Safe Food Australia - developed by FSANZ providing an explanatory guide and examples to accompany each of the Food Safety Standards and will assist food businesses in understanding the basic criteria they must meet.